Tree Frog Blog!

the (un)official weblog of the Chase Street Elementary School Library

4th Grade Riddle Poems by Ms. Carrithers’ Class

I mentioned that testing jumbled up my class schedule at the end of April, and just like Mrs. Beaman’s class was the only 3rd grade group I saw the first week of testing, Ms. Carrithers’ class was the only 4th grade group who had time for a whole-class library visit.

Since it was April, of course we continued with our poetry theme, and since it was a testing week, I wanted the activity to be lighthearted and fun.

One of my favorite things about poetry is how some poems are like little puzzles to figure out, and I love how figurative language contributes to this playfulness. So, I challenged my 4th grade writers to create their own riddle poems, illustrated if time allowed, and chock full of figurative language.

I wrote my own example–which, I’ll admit, I was a little self-conscious about! But it was fun sharing my own creative writing with the kids, and I think doing that kind of thing definitely builds the sense that we’re all in it together. :)

Can you tell what my riddle poem is about?

At the beginning, the kids were unsure, but by the end they had it all figured out!

At the beginning, the kids were unsure, but by the end they had it all figured out!

We discussed how, if we wrote in first person, our poems would be examples of personification (similar to 2nd grade’s “I am…” odes that same week), but we have also spent time learning in our classrooms and in the library about similes, metaphors, idioms, and hyperbole.

(Not to mention sound devices like alliteration and onomatopoeia!)

Once students had an idea of what their finished products might look like, they chose topics and brainstormed clues they could share with readers to guide them towards the riddle’s answer–without revealing too much! We talked about how being too literal might make a riddle too easy, but well-crafted figurative language would provide our readers with a fun challenge.

The kids were really into this assignment and came up with some very interesting clues!

How many of these riddles can you figure out?

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow our Tree Frog Blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 315 other followers

Image credits

Background via freeseamlesstextures.com, used with attribution under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License.

Tree frog image public domain via openclipart.org.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

