Over the holiday break, I saw this image floating around on the web and thought it was worth sharing:

(This is definitely one of mine!)

I think this is a great resolution for anyone to make!

Not only that, but the image inspired me to try some reading resolution making with classes in the library.

This week, several of our 2nd- and 3rd-grade classes took part in this introspective activity.

First, I had students share with me their ideas about what a resolution is:

Look at all those great synonyms for "resolution"! I especially liked that someone suggested "promise to yourself."
Look at all those great synonyms for resolution! I especially liked that one student suggested “promise to yourself.”

We also read an excerpt from the book Amelia’s Must-Keep Resolutions for the Best Year Ever! by Marissa Moss (pictured on the slide, from the ever-popular Amelia’s Notebook series) to see an example of some of her resolutions and to discuss how the resolutions might help Amelia become a stronger learner this year.

Now that we had talked about the what, it was time to move on to the why.

Don't you just love Calvin and Hobbes? :)
Don’t you just love Calvin and Hobbes? 🙂

I asked the students how many of them were already good readers. Lots of hands went up (of course!). Then I asked if they thought they could be even better. (Yes!)

That moved us along into brainstorming mode. What kind of readers were we in 2012? And what could we do to become better readers in 2013? I modeled this reflective process on the SMART Board with my own responses:

This activity forced me to admit that I don't always make time to read as often as I'd like to. Now that the kids know this about me, I'm sure they'll check up on me for the rest of the year!
This activity forced me to admit that I don’t always make time to read as often as I’d like to. Now that the kids know this about me, I’m sure they’ll be checking up on me for the rest of the year!

Once students had had some time to do their own brainstorming, we moved on to the fun part: reading resolution bookmarks!

My reading resolutions for all the world to see.
My reading resolutions for all the world to see.

My 2nd and 3rd graders were so thoughtful and reflective during this process. Here they are hard at work on their reading resolution reminders:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What reading resolutions have you made for 2013?

